Asian Cup 2011

a cup.jpg
From January 7th to January 29th.
The AFC Asian Cup takes place every four years, having had its first edition in 1956. Since then only seven teams have lifted the title..
Saudi Arabia, Japan and Iran have won three titles each, South Korea two, and Kuwait and Iraq one. The remaining team is Israel, which won the 1964 tournament before later joining UEFA and leaving AFC.
At China 2004, there were sixteen teams: three years later the tournament was moved to an odd year to allow for a greater spreading of international matches across the world. Thus a selection of South East Asian nations hosted the ’07 cup, which was won by Iraq, who beat Saudi Arabia in the final. South Korea edged Japan for third place.
This is the first time Qatar have hosted the tournament since 1988:
It’s being played in the winter to beat the heat.
A couple of promotional videos …

2 comments on “Asian Cup 2011
  1. Dear Webmaster,
    I came across your Blog recently. I wanted to ask if you would please consider placing a link to my website called
    We have an extensive collection of autographed and unsigned memorabilia for all your favorite athletes and teams.
    If you think it would be of use to your visitors, would you please consider adding a link to my website on your page. We are happy to offer you a 10% discount to our Online Store if you do so.
    Here is the link you could add: – a one-stop shop for sports memorabilia fans!
    Please let me know if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *