Countdown to African Safari begins

All eyes turn to Ghana as the countdown for the 26th African Nations Cup approaches the zero hour. 47 nations were divided into 11 groups of four teams and 1 group of 3 teams.The 12 group winners and the best 3 runners-up from groups with four teams (originally groups 1-11, now groups 2-11 after the withdrawal of Djibouti from group 1) qualified for the finals. More stats of that nature here.
And still with Africa – Emmanuel Adebayor won the 2007 BBC African Footballer of the Year a couple of days back.Fans won’t get to see him play in Ghana though because his country Togo failed to qualify for the tournament – but that’s good news for Arsenal I guess.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *