AZ Alkmaar: A bit of history with the Gunners

DSB stadium.jpg
Interesting factoid.
AZ Alkmaar inaugurated their new DSB stadium on August 4, 2006 with a 0-3 loss to the Gunners. Gilberto Silva, Emmanuel Adebayor and RVP scored goals. You can watch the goals >>1-0, 2-0, 3-0.
For the record: AZ were undefeated in all 32 of their home matches in European competitions, a sequence which ran from 1977 until 20 December 2007, when they finally lost to Everton of England, by a score of 2-3.
They became Eredivisie champions for the second time last season after a gap of 28 years and their success is built around a tough back four led by Kew Jaliens, an excellent attacking midfielder in Maarten Martens, and Moroccan striker Munir El Hamdaoui who led the league with 23 goals.

, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *