Inter sweeps the UEFA awards

UEFA winners.jpg
A clean sweep – the first time since the awards were instituted in 1998.
Diego Milito won the footballer of the year and also won the forward of the year.
UEFA Club Forward of the Year: Diego Milito (Inter). Also nominated Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United).
UEFA Club Midfielder of the Year: Wesley Sneijder (Inter). Also nominated Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich) and Xavi Hernández (Barcelona).
UEFA Club Defender of the Year: Maicon (Inter). Also nominated Lúcio (Inter) and Gerard Piqué (Barcelona).
UEFA Club Goalkeeper of the Year: Júlio César (Inter). Also nominated Hugo Lloris (Lyon) and Víctor Valdés (Barcelona).
I was hoping Manuel Almunia or Lukasz Fabianski would be there too as goalies of the year but the UEFA nominating committee probably missed out on their greatness.
For more past winners >>

, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *